Thursday of the Fifth Week of Lent

+Jn 8: 51-59

Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever keeps my word will never see death.”

(So) the Jews said to him, “Now we are sure that you are possessed. Abraham died, as did the prophets, yet you say, ‘Whoever keeps my word will never taste death.’

Are you greater than our father Abraham,  who died? Or the prophets, who died? Who do you make yourself out to be?”

Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is worth nothing; but it is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God.’

You do not know him, but I know him. And if I should say that I do not know him, I would be like you a liar. But I do know him and I keep his word.

Abraham your father rejoiced to see my day; he saw it and was glad.

So the Jews said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old and you have seen Abraham?”

Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, before Abraham came to be, I AM.”

So they picked up stones to throw at him; but Jesus hid and went out of the temple area.

The New American Bible

The Catechism of the Catholic Church

473 But at the same time, this truly human knowledge of God’s Son expressed the divine life of his person. “The human nature of God’s Son, not by itself but by its union with the Word, knew and showed forth in itself everything that pertains to God.” Such is first of all the case with the intimate and immediate knowledge that the Son of God made man has of his Father. The Son in his human knowledge also showed the divine penetration he had into the secret thoughts of human hearts.

590 Only the divine identity of Jesus’ person can justify so absolute a claim as “He who is not with me is against me”; and his saying that there was in him “something greater than Jonah,. . . greater than Solomon”, something “greater than the Temple”; his reminder that David had called the Messiah his Lord, and his affirmations, “Before Abraham was, I AM”, and even “I and the Father are one.”

